Superhero Sonnets

As a writer, there’s always a couple of ideas floating around in my head. These jostle for supremacy and the victor enjoys the benefits of being written into completion (unless there’s a coup, in which case the battle begins anew). The latest victor was a series of sonnets written about superheroes.

I’ve always had a fascination with myths and legends which developed into a love of superheroes when I was a teen. Since becoming a writer (and teacher) the sonnet is a form I find myself drawn to; combining these interests seemed like a logical course to follow.

I started by listing some of the heroes I thought I might encapsulate in this way:

IMG_3305

You’ll have to excuse the terrible hand writing and photo quality.

Anyway, then I brainstormed my first hero; Spider-man.

IMG_3306

The next pic will show my first draft. What it can’t show is the amount of lines I rehearsed on my fingers, counting syllables as I went, before they hit the paper.

IMG_3307

This is pretty much how most of my poetry begins. Some of it is simply stream-of-consciousness but the more ‘important’ poems are planned first and often spoken before they are put on the page.

I’ve written two superhero sonnets now (one last night – Spider-Man, one tonight – Batman) and I’ve thrown these two on images even though I haven’t finalised them yet. Mostly I’ve done this because sometimes I like to share things before I refine them so I get a better understanding of what works and what doesn’t.

If you want to find them, these two images can be found on my new Facebook page or on Twitter.

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

