Top of the (Funko) Pops

I have an addictive personality. Fortunately, my compulsions haven’t manifested in drug use and I’m very cautious with my alcohol consumption. Instead, I just tend to collect stuff.

This ‘stuff’ has included magazines, DVDs, books, and Lego. Most recently, however, I’ve started collecting Funko Pop vinyl figures.

I’d seen them on-line but hadn’t purchased any until I received one as a gift. My first Pop was Superman and I’d gotten it as a thank you from my colleagues. I assume I got Supes because I’m a comic book fan but I prefer to think it’s because I did a super job at being Head of Department while the boss was away.

10846331_10153383094584829_2074242826888331292_n

The second Pop I got was through one of those geeky gift box things, specifically Loot Crate. It’s a weird design; a Batman/Joker hybrid. It’s quirky but it doesn’t have a lot going for it beyond that.

jb pop

Nevertheless, having these two got me started down the road to buying my own. I picked up a couple of throwbacks to cartoons I used to enjoy in Super Saiyan Goku (from DBZ) and a Foot Soldier (from TMNT) but the majority of my collection is horror themed. Freddy Krueger and Jason Voorhees kicked these off, then I received Pinhead (as a Father’s Day present from a special chickadee at work) before picking up The Crow today.

f v j pop

My favourite so far is Slimer. The design is awesome as it has slime ‘dripping’ from his body.

slimer

There’s another Pop purchased but I have to wait until Christmas before I open it – speaking of which, the kids are getting two Pops each as X-Mas presents to compliment the ones they already own (Princess Celestia from My Little Pony, and Iron Man).

Anyway, I think what I like about them is the Chibi style design. I’ve always found super deformed characters endearing, ever since I found baby versions of Muppets (TV) and X-Men (comics) when I was younger. This especially works when you consider the juxtaposition of the horror characters and these super-cute versions of them.

Funko have recently released Pops for Orange is the New Black, Pitch Perfect and a bunch of other lines I would have thought weren’t ‘nerdy’ enough for this sort of collectible. I can’t wait to see what else they bring out.

One thought on “Top of the (Funko) Pops

Leave a Reply

