Ron Barton – Poetic Smackdown

This was the first interview I ever did as a result of my writing. I still can’t believe how fortunate I was to find a reader in Abbie.

URBAN F

If God Is A Poet

“I could write a sonnet on it.

Yes, that would suffice.

Perhaps a ballad would be better

Or a free verse, just as nice”.

The Thought Process Of A Poet

Ron Barton - Perth Poetry Club Ron Barton – Perth Poetry Club

This is Ron Barton – my appointed Poet Laureate for today’s ‘Smackdown’. A man on a word mission, to share and teach the intricacies of verse in all it’s styles and traditions.

Discovering Ron bounding from the pages of the Australian based e-magazine The Tincture Journal, was another one of life’s unexpected pleasures. An excellent collection of authors from both hemispheres, their thoughts micro and long. It was Ron Barton’s poetry that hit me first. His swaggering word beats, his insights and mirth. I could hear his music, lilt and rhythm. An assonance filled with honesty, regret, pride, frustration, identity, humour and darkest dark glimpsed light.

Ron’s poetry hatches…

View original post 2,665 more words

Leave a Reply

